Championing a dynamic motion picture workforce in B.C. that is equitable, diverse and inclusive.

Provincial Tuition Waiver Program

Supporting former youth in care in B.C. of any age for post-secondary education in full or part-time programs


Student Aid BC

Starting Aug. 1, 2023, all former youth in care in B.C. of any age will have their tuition waived for post-secondary education to make education and training more accessible and affordable.

The Provincial Tuition Waiver Program was previously only available to former youth in care between 19 and 26.

To be eligible for the Provincial Tuition Waiver Program, students must be:

  • Studying full- or part-time in an eligible undergraduate level program at a B.C. public post-secondary institution; the Native Education College or one of 10 approved trades training providers (see below for more information on eligible programs and a full list of eligible institutions);
  • Between the ages of 19-26 (inclusive) at the time of tuition waiver application or;
  • 17 or 18 years of age and not receiving educational supports through the B.C. Ministry of Children and Family Development (MCFD) or an Indigenous Child and Family Service Agency (ICFSA); and,
  • Adopted through B.C. MCFD or an ICFSA; or
  • Formerly in the B.C. Ministry of Social Development and Poverty Reduction Child in Home of Relative Program; or
  • Formerly in any B.C. MCFD or ICFSA Legal Status (either while living in B.C. or while placed by MCFD or an ICFSA on an Interprovincial Placement Agreement [IPPA]) for at least 24 months or (730 days) (consecutive or accumulated in any combination).

Eligible Programs of Study:

The Provincial Tuition Waiver Program covers a wide range of undergraduate study options:

  • Courses leading to a certificate, diploma, credential or undergraduate degree
  • Courses taken during unclassified qualifying years, non-credit-based trades programs and continuing education programs eligible for student financial assistance
  • Apprenticeship training
  • Any non-credit courses associated with lifelong learning or competencies related to the labour market

Masters, PhD or post-graduate courses or programs, or any Adult Basic Education programs and/or fees, are not eligible.

Eligible post-secondary institutions:
British Columbia Institute of Technology Thompson Rivers University
Camosun College University of British Columbia
Capilano University University of Northern British Columbia
College of New Caledonia University of the Fraser Valley
College of the Rockies University of Victoria
Douglas College Vancouver Community College
Emily Carr University of Art and Design Vancouver Island University
Justice Institute of British Columbia Native Education College
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Boilermaker Training Centre
Langara College Construction and Specialized Workers
Nicola Valley Institute of Technology D.C. 38 Joint Trade Society
North Island College Electrical Joint Training Committee
Northern Lights College Floorlayers Union
Coast Mountain College IUOE Local 115 Training Association
Okanagan College Pile Drivers Local 2404
Royal Roads University Piping Industry Apprenticeship Board
Selkirk College Sheet Metal Workers Training Centre Society
Simon Fraser University Trowel Trades Training Association
You are Leaving - Icon
You are now leaving ...

It will open in a new browser tab. You will be leaving Creative Pathways for a moment. We'll be right here when you come back!

Cancel Continue